January wrap-up

janwrap.jpg

During January I managed to stay into my five books a month goal for 2016 (to make 60 at the end of the year), so I’m quite content with myself. Also, I planned to read entirely different books, but I’m happy my plans changed along the way – they always do for some reason! – because I discovered some great authors.
So here there are those last month reading:

Off to be the Wizard (Magic 2.0 #1)by Scott Meyer
rating4
What if the universe is just some line of code, just like every other computer program? What if we find those lines of code while hacking a computer? What if the police wants to know how we replenished our bank account out of nowhere? What if your best escape plan is to become a wizard in medieval England? Off to be the Wizard is a book with a nice world-building, a lot of humor and a fair amount of geekiness.
More in the upcoming review!

Stardust by Neil Gaiman
rating4
I love fairy stories, I love Neil Gaiman’s stories and I love the way he tells stories. I proposed this as a read for a small book club with friends and I’m so happy this gave me the chance to read the book. Despite being a modern story, it’s filled with all the wonder of classical fairy tales. Tackling many themes for young readers and adults alike, such as love, life and finally becoming who we are, it is an enchanting read.

How to Train Your Dragon (HTTYD #1) by Cressida Cowell
rating2
First attempt with an audiobook. The experience was enjoyable, but I haven’t liked the book as much as I expected. It is completely my fault: as I saw the movie first, I thought it would’ve been a completetely different story. But that’s what they are: two completely different stories and both are good, in their way. The real thing that I didn’t like was the lack of Astrid (whom I love in the movie!) or any other female protagonist. But we do get a version of Toothless that is a bit more dragon-y and less…agreeable than the one in the movie, so that’s a sort of bargain I guess?

 Acceptance by Jeff VanderMeer
rating3
What can I say about this book? Better than Authority, but not as good as Annihilation. Overall it was a nice read, althoug VanerMeer’s style is so dense that it is difficult for me to really enjoy a book. Many times I had to put it down and wait. This didn’t get along with the hints that we see in the book about the Area X and everything. But I enjoyed the story of the Director and the Lightkeeper. And the idea is, overall, very intereting and reading the series is definetely “an experience!”, as a friend of mine put it.

NPCs (Spells, Swords and Stealth #1) by Drew Hayes
rating4
Every gamer is familiar with the term. A world with no one except our heroes would be empty: who would serve at the tavern? Who would sell fruits at the markey? Who would give the occasional quests, asking us to empty their basement from rats? Non Player Characters are part of the world like an inanimate objects, as they serve a purpose. It’s not like they have a life of their own, right? Right?
More in the upcoming review!

 
image

Leave a Reply

