AuthorAThon: TBR + first day wrap up

AuthorATon is a readathon created by Joana and co-hosted by Sam. It started yesterday and will go on until April 24th and as I’ve always wanted to participate in a readathon…I did it! I put together a TBR as soon as I knew of its existence (yesterday morning) and now it’s time to share with you my excitement.

The AuthorAThon focuses on authors (who could tell?) and so that’s the theme of the six challenges.

CgUJunFW8AABqUM.jpg large

  1. Read a book by a favorite author – for the first challenge I chose Tales from Earthsea by Ursula K. LeGuin. She has a beautiful way with words and I missed Earthsea (and Ged. Oh, Ged!) so I thought this was the perfect time o start this book.
  2. Read a new-to-you author – The Human Stain by Philip Roth. I never heard of it before the assigned it as a reading for a course I’m taking at uni. I should’ve read this book a looong time ago, so this is the perfect time to get through it. As soon as possible.
  3. Give an author a second chance – The author is Suzanne Collins and the book is Catching Fire, in the Hunger Games series. The name popped into my mind immediately because I haven’t loved the first book, but I thought the story was interesting and so decided to give it a try. Again.
  4. Read a debut author (2015 or 2016) – I still don’t know what book I’ll read for this one. I’m 75% sure it will be Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley, though.
  5. Read a book written by more than one author – this is the perfect moment to start the Dragonlance series that has been seeting on my shelf for over a year. It smells like the 80s, it probably is a first edition, I’ve been repeatedly told to read it and I still havent. I need to make up for this. Ah, yes: it was written by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman.
  6. Read a book from an author who is from a different continent than you are – I’m going to read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children for this challenge, as Ransom Riggs is from the US and I am born and currently reside in Italy. I know that Philip Roth and the other authors are from a different continent than me but I want to read this book so much.

 

day1I spent most of my Monday studying and when I wasn’t studying, I was reading. Not that I usually do anything else in my life, really. Nonetheless, I was so excited I read something like 250 pages of Catching Fire before the clock hit midnight. I havent’ read this fast in ages. AGES. And I’m so happy and pumped I don’t want to stop reading! šŸ™‚

You can follow the #authoraton tag on twitter to keep up with our efforts to stay bookish!

Senza titolo-2

Leave a Reply

