May Wrap Up

maywrap.jpg

Old World Witchery by Raven Grimassi
rating3
I came back to traditional witchcraft. Again. I randomly picked this book up just because I randomly found it floating in my direaction. I must admit that I didn’t really knew what to expectas I’ve never read any of Raven Grimassi’s book. Overall, it was a good read. I enjoyed many insights on witches and witchcraft, although there are many things that put me a little off. It was interesting nonetheless and it does contain many interesting ideas. It’s also an easy read, from the point of view of a non-native speaker.

Dragons of Autumn Twilight by M.Weis and T. Hickman
I finally started reading the Chronicle trilogy, settled in the vast Dragonlance universe. A friend of mine was eager to see me starting it and I was eager to put my hands on (another) fantasy series. I liked the book and I liked the characters, but before saying anything else I want to finish the whole trilogy. However I’m absolutely in love with Tas, the kender people in general, Flint and Sturm and Tanis are a romantic brotp for me now.

A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness
rating1
I do not give lonely stars lightly and it doesn’t happen often that you see me giving them. This book, however, is the worst Twilight instalment since Twilight came out. The writing isn’t completely horrible, but the characters are and overall the story is inconsistent. I’m going to do a full review of this one, however, so I’m keeping all my bad feelings for it.

Where Witchcraft Lives by Doreen Valiente
rating5
Following the trail of Grimassi’s book, I picked this up to read a bit more about trad witchcraft. As many know, Doreen Valiente worked with Gardner, but she was also knowledgeable in many fields of witchcraft that aren’t particoularly tied to Wicca. Where Witchcraft Lives is both a testimony of how witchcraft was perceived (and practiced) in the last century and a discusson on the lore of UK and Sussex in particoular. If one bears in mind how different our knowledge regarding the history and anthropology of witchcraft and religion are now (read: Murray wasn’t right about it, sorry), the information contained in this book are priceless and still very useful today.

The Rune Primer by Sweyn Plowright
rating4
I started this book because I want to get into runes again and was looking for something that might help me remember basi history facts etc. However, the historical part on the rune is very short and, overall, it doesn’t really make a big work on such issues. I appreciated it a lot, however, and not only because it contains three wonderful versions of the rune poems. It has an extended section on myth busting and discussions on other, more famous, authors that I feel might be of great help to those who are starting with the runes. It’s a very short read and definetly worth it.

Senza titolo-2

Leave a Reply

