TBR Takedown Readathon

Apparently, joining readathons on the second day is my thing.
The TBR Takedown 4.0 was created by leaninglights (you can find her on twitter and YouTube) and is taking place this week, from June 20 to 26.
I had fun with the last readathon I participated in and as I have a long TBR to work on, I thought “why not joining the fun?”

Without further due, may I present you my reading list?

image

I didn’t want big numbers because I know I won’t have much time to read this week, so I took three big books (one I’ve already started) and also three smaller books, to serve as a break between a long read and the other.

  • The Human Stain by Philip Roth is the first book, and the one I’ve already started. I’m toward the end actually, there are a hundred pages left, but it seem to be infinite! I can’t wait to finish this, it’s a torture I swear.
  • A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Brison.
    One of the challenges is to read a book that has been in your TBR for more than a year and this poor book was bought in December 2014 and never read. I was so excited to have it, but I never found the right moment to do it. I’ll take this readathon as a sign that that moment has come.
  • Dragons of Spring Dawning by M. Weis and T. Hickman
    One of the challenges is to read a sequel and this is the third and last book in the Chronicle Trilogy, settled in the Dragonlance universe. I wanted to wait a while before starting this, because it ain’t no light read. Unfortunately, the end of the previous book left me sad and with a huge need to know what is going on (and to hit Tanis in every manly part of his body).

Now with the smaller books, we have:

  • The Castle of Otranto by Thomas Walpole, in a very old and very cheap Italian edition. I bought this at the flea market when I was taking a course in English literature of 17th and 18th century. It wasn’t part of the course syllabus, which is why I never read it.
  • The War of the Worlds by H. G. Wells, I bought this when I started being interested in science fiction. I’m not that into sci-fi, though, so it never was a priority in my reading lists.
  • La Sabbia e la Luna by Antonio Colombo
    As you can see, this is an Italian book. I haven’t checked if there’s an English edition, the (literal) translation of the title is The sand and the moon. Someone, probably my sister, left this in the bookshelf and I casually found it when we moved house last year. I never heard about it, but it’s so tiny and it has this old-school, romantic cover. It catched my eyes and I kept it, but I completely forgot I had it.

And now the fun begins! Let me know if you participate and what you’re reading and join the fun on the twitter tbrtakedown account and tag!

Senza titolo-2

Leave a Reply

