#TBRTAKEDOWN 4.0 wrap-up

The readathon’s week is finished and is now time to look at what I was able to read!

I always put a lot of books in my TBRs for readathons because I need different titles and different genres to choose from, but I know that I won’t be able to finish them all (or start them all).
I’m quite happy with what I read, however, because I finally finished The Human Stain by Philip Roth. It was a compulsory reading for my English course so I had to read it, but I haven’t liked it. Not a bit. It’s not the kind of story I usually enjoy, but the point is the writing style was too dense for me and it took forever to go through the book. Not even Dickens slowed me down so much.
I also managed to read The Caste of Otranto by Horace Walpole. It’s a hundred paage long, so I finished it in a couple of ours, and I can say now that it’s slightly insignificant. I understand how it is the novella writers of gothic novels looked at as inspiration, so I’m not discounting its importance in the history of literature, but guys was it boring!
Finally, I managed to read 111 pages from A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Brison. It’s one of the books that stayed in my TBR the longest and, having bought it, I really wanted to go through it. I’m happy that I managed to read so much of it, because although incredibly interesting it uses a lot of technical terms and scientific language. I’m not well-versed in science even in my own language, so it takes a bit to translate terms and understand everything. However it is a funny reading, I’m discovering a lot of quirky things about the scientific world!
Plus I read a huge chunk of Celtic Myth by Miranda Green yesterday evening before going to bed and I finished it this morning, so that’s another book to add to the list! 😀

Overall, I finished between 250-300 pages last week. It’s more than my usual count so I’m proud of myself!

Senza titolo-2

Leave a Reply

