Summer Biannual Bibliothon TBR

At this point, you’ve probably understood how much I like to participate in readathons. July is here, after all, so even if I still have to hand in a project for uni I want to relax and have fun. And I really enjoy how readathons can connect you with other readers, helping you finding reading buddies and new books to read.

As you can see from the title, the readathon I’m participating in this time is the Summer Biannual Bibliothon. This summer edition starts tomorrow, July 3rd, and will finish on July 9th.
Hopefully, I’ll cross many books from my list, but I’m going to play casual because…it’s too hot. I don’t want to sweat more than necessary. This is also the reason why I won’t take part in every challenge, I choose a couple and will stick with that (maybe that will help me read more, who knows?)

My free choice/wild card books are three books I already started, but I haven’t read much of any of them:

  • A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Brison – I’ve started this for the TBRTakedown, but I got through the first two parts of it (sounds a lot, it’s only 20% of it. It’s a looong book, guys). This is a science-y book, trying to explain how we got from the Big Bang to…here!
  • The Long Way To a Small, Angry Planet by Becky Chambers, I put this book down when I realised that it was too great to be read casually during exam session. So, I put it back and kept it for a more quiet time, to really dive into it and enjoy the story. It’s probably my most anticipated reads of the year.
  • Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt, as this is really not my genres I had to proof-read it before deciding to actually start the book seriously. I believe is a coming-of-age story about a girl who just lost her dear uncle. It is much like The Perks of Being a Wallflower or Love Letters to The Dead.

One of the challenges is to read a book with your favourite mythical creatures. I’m a fantasy geek, so I have love for any magical creature walking out there, but dragons are – by far – my beloved. They are awesome, magical and perfect in any way. My choice for this challenge is:

  • Dreamwalker by James Oswald, I don’t know much about this story (despite having owned the book for more than a year! I’m the worst) except that dragon are slowly disappearing from Gwlad (which, I guess, is the world the story is settled in).

Authors you’ve never read before:

  • When God Was A Rabbit and A Year of Marvelous Ways by Sarah Winman, I never read anything of this author, but I was so inspired by the beginning of When God Was A Rabbit, that I bought them without a single thoughts. I’m really looking forward to read them and I have high expectations about them. Let’s pray they live up to them!

As usual, you can find the readathon on Youtube and Twitter! And let me know if you decide to come read with us! 🙂

Senza titolo-2

 

Leave a Reply

