Biannual Bibliothon, day 2

I have worked both yesterday and today, so I didn’t manage to read as much as I wanted to.

I’m now at 50% of A Long Way To A Small, Angry Planet and I’m really liking it so far. I love how many alien species are there, and how detailed their culture are. I love Dr. Chef, and Sissix, and Jenks and I like how they have been described, although it doesn’t feel like you gave anything in your hand up to this point. I think that, as it’s a series, the characters will be better explained in the rest of the story – but I still have half of it, so maybe it’s just me judging hastily. I must admit, though, that something is putting me off about it, but I’m not quite sure about what is it, yet. 

Tell The Wolves I’m Home is a delicate, yet powerful story. It reminds me of cinnamon hot chocolate and snow, and how much I wanted to have a place of my own when I was 14 years old. A place just for me, in a world different from this one. I like how genuine June’s responses are, how she really acts as a 14yo girl. How her characterisation doesn’t fall into complete silliness or fake maturity. She’s smart, but she still is young and sometimes she doesn’t know better. Like we all do. I read the first 30%, but it doesn’t seem a long read. Although the pace isn’t actually fast, its chapter are rather short and that easily makes me saying “just another one” (and I end up reading for another two hours and oh! The book’s finished!) 

I hope to finish at least one of these books tomorrow! I don’t  want to find myself with another 5 or 6 half-read books šŸ˜„

Leave a Reply

