Read Better, Not More – 2017 bookish resolutions

Challenge yourself to read more, this year!

Goodreads users know that a new year means a new reading challenge. New books, new goals: everyone of us wants to accomplish something more than we did in the past year and our TBRs usually are so big that reading faster is the only possible way to get through it all.

Reading challenge, but everytime you add a book to your TBR pile it gets faster

(if you don’t get the ref, you live outside meme culture and you should remedy that)

But it’s a new year and this means I want to do something different. In 2017 my personal reading challenge will be focused on reading better.

I’ve read faster for three years now. I did my first challenge in 2014 and since then my reading rate has grown of twenty books a year. T W E N T Y. That’s insane.
My pledge for 2016 was to read 60 books (I did the math and thought that five books a month were something I could manage) and although I ended up reading 54 I think it’s a win because it’s 14 books more than 2015. Those are ridiculous number, y’all.
I proved that I can read a lot. I proved I can read faster. There’s no point in doing this again: I can’t grow that rate any longer and I don’t wish to.

When I read my point is not “finish the book”, it’s “read the book”. Possibly, “savour the book” and “understand what you’re reading” – something I can’t do with the ghost of Goodreads asking how faster I am doing it.
Yeah, it’s all my personal problem here, but this idea of doing everything faster and faster is sickening at some point. Furthermore, there are several non-fiction books I really want to read this year and if one can eat up a story in a couple of days, long essays have to be chewed and digested slowly. And talking about non-fiction, I really need to start write down notes when I read. I tell myself that I’m going to remember every idea that comes up into my kind, but it’s a lie. We all know I won’t.

Last, but not least, I want to explore some genres I never read before (like horror or mystery, I already downloaded a collection of H. P. Lovecraft) and I want to read more poetry. As a student of literature I read what I must for my courses, but there are modern authors I discovered that I appreciate as well as some classic authors that caught my attention. 

Now, I’ll (slowly) grab my book and start reading. Slowly. 

Leave a Reply

