T5W: Books You’ve Read Because of Booktube/Blogging/etc

t5ww
©freepik

Since I started lurking following the book community, especially BookTubers, I found a lot of great (and not-so great) titles to put my hands on. These are the books that I’ve been pushed to read the most, for a reason or another.

Furiously Happy, a Funny Book About Horrible Things by Jenny Lawson
I saw this book in a wrap-up, I thought “I have to read it” and after three or four days I had finished it. It’s that good. It’s a collection of essays about basically everything that happens in the author’s life, told with a big dose of humor. I appreciated Mrs. Lawson being open about her dealing with mental illness: she has a way of with words that make you laugh even when you’d like to cry (which isn’t bad) and describes her experience in such a way that you can’t but relate. We’ve all been through horrible things, after all.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children
Saw on a YT channel, I thought I was going to read an eerie story and got…nice vintage photographs. Don’t get me wrong, the story and the writing aren’t bad, they’re just not what I was told they were: horror or at least creepy. It really wasn’t to me, so it felt like a bit of a letdown (and no, I’m not intendioned to go on with the series: it didn’t catch my attention).

The Princess Saves Herself in This One by Amanda Lovelace
Written by a girl whose booklr I used to follow, this is a collection of poetry. I gave in to buying it when I saw it was listed for the 2016 Goodreads award and it didn’t disappoint: the poetry, modern in style, is touching and some poems are so relatable to my own experience in adolescence that I almost cried here and there.

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
I saw this book multiple times on multiple YT channels as the “must read” for every nerd and videogame lover. I bought it and…it was a huge disappointment. The story is boring and the main character is too. Overall it seems like a whole book was written just to show the knowledge of 80s pop culture of the author. Which is amazingly vast, but unfortunately not enough to write a novel about.

The Long Way to A Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers
The best way to describe this book is: “it’s like reading Mass Effect”. I really liked it and I’m soon going to re-read it to get into the companion novel, too. It’s set in space, but it’s more of a character-driven novel than a space opera. The various humans and aliens that populate the pages are well thought of and I appreciated the effort put into creating different alien species. However, the writing sometimes feels a bit off, although I couldn’t say exactly why.

Special mensions go to Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire and All the Birds in the Sky by C.J. Anders! Both of them wonderful books that I recommend you check out.

Senza titolo-2

One thought on “T5W: Books You’ve Read Because of Booktube/Blogging/etc

Leave a Reply

